HARARE – Zimbabwe has named an 18-man squad for its five-match T201 series with Namibia in Bulawayo.

Whilst senior batter Sean Williams is still missing from the squad following the death of his father last month, Craig Ervine (pictured) returns as captain after being appointed the country’s limited overs skipper earlier this year.

The matches against upcoming African nation Namibia constitute part of the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup Qualifier for the 2020 event.

In a statement, ZC wrote: “The home side goes into the series – scheduled for 17, 19, 21, 21 22 and 24 May – with a powerful 18-man squad led by limited-overs captain Craig Ervine , alongside seasoned campaigners Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva and Tendai Chatara.

“We need to hit the ground running as we cannot afford missing out on the T20 World Cup, with the Namibia series presenting us with a great opportunity to fine-tune our team for the qualifiers,” ZC’s head selector David Mutendera said.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe’s pace spearhead Blessing Muzarabani will miss the series because of his involvement as a practice bowler for IPL side Lucknow.


Craig Ervine (captain), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Ernest Masuku, Brandon Mavuta, Tony Munyonga, Richmond Mutumbami, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shuma, Donald Tiripano.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here